Memorial’s Forensicators steamroll at the State Forensics Competition


The 2016-2017 Forensics Team enjoys their success at the state finals. Photo courtesy of Forensics Director Mr. Sirek.

The 2017 Memorial High School Forensics team returned from state competition with 27 medals: 15 gold, 10 silver and two bronze.

Individual gold medal winners are: Elsa Fitzgerald (11); Ruth Seymour (12); Emily Helstrom (12); Tawna Duchesneau (10); Brittney Gums (10); Maddy LoRusso (10); Ruth Seymour (12); Patrick Hull (12); Brooke Suttles (10); Andie Wynkoop (10); Madie Sherman (10); and, the four-person play competition team of Julia Carpenter (12), Dane Sorensen (12), Zack Sulzer (12) and Olivia Weiher (12).

Individual silver medal winners are: Angela Arnholt (12); Shilpa Maddikunta (10); Roj Cosiquien (9); Emily Ruth (10); Aja St. Germaine (11); Ava Magee (11); Montana Garcia (10); Gwen Heywood (10); Stephanie Chen (10); and, Olivia Gray (10).

Sophomore Tatiana Hull and Junior Andrew Smith earned bronze medals.

The Forensics Team continues a winning tradition at Memorial. According to Forensics Program Director Mr. Sirek, “In my history at MHS (12 years) we have sent our ENTIRE team to state except one year when only one student did NOT qualify.”